United v Wanderers – Abandoned


The Canberra United v Wanderers match was abandoned in the 36th minute with the score at 0-0

The Canberra United versus Western Sydney Wanderers match was abandoned in the 36th minute with the score at 0-0 due to dangerous conditions with lightning causing the officials to remove the players from the field. The fixture will be replayed on Tuesday evening.

It was a day of contrasting weather in Canberra as the match, scheduled for 2pm, was delayed five hours due to extreme temperatures that sent the thermometer soaring. Incredibly the match was then delayed further as a severe thunderstorm replaced the intense heat with lightning flashing around the ground and thunder rolling in from the hills. The match eventually got underway at 7.30pm.

With Ashleigh Sykes suffering a recurrence of the quad injury that sidelined her for several weeks in training, United Head Coach Jitka Klimkova reshuffled her pack, dropping Georgia Yeoman-Dale to right back and handing US import Kristen Mewis her debut in place of Nikki Washington who has returned to the USA, in an otherwise unchanged line-up from the draw with Perth Glory.

There was little between the teams in the half an hour that was completed with the Wanderers missing the best chance after only ten minutes, Sarah Walsh side-footing wide from a presentable position just outside the six-yard box after a surging run from Louise Fors.

At the other end Canberra had a big shout for a penalty waved away after Caitlin Munoz was bundled over in the area but that was as close as either team went with referee Rebecca Durcau calling a halt to proceedings nine minutes before half time meaning we have to do it all again on Tuesday evening.

Canberra United 0
Western Sydney Wanderers 0
Attendance: 564

Canberra United: 1. Mackenzie Arnold, 2. Caitlin Cooper, 3. Georgia Yeoman-Dale, 6. Caitlin Munoz, 7. Ellie Brush, 8. Hayley Raso, 11. Michelle Heyman, 13. Nicole Sykes, 17. Ariane Hingst, 19. Jennifer Bisset, 23. Kristen Mewis

Western Sydney Wanderers: 20. Thora Helgadottir, 2. Samantha Spackman, 3. Alexandra Huynh, 4. Alesha Clifford, 8. Vanessa Hart, 9. Sarah Walsh, 10. Servet Uzunlar, 11. Louise Fors, 13. Catherine Cannuli, 15. Teigen Allen, 16. Linda O-Neill

Yellow Cards:
Referee: Rebecca Durcau