2017 Westfield W-League Season Draw announced!


The 2017 Westfield W-League schedule is here, with extra broadcast games and Sunday streaming announced.

Extra broadcast games and Sunday streaming highlight the release of the 2017 Westfield W-League season draw, released today by Football Federation Australia (FFA).
Canberra United will begin away to Melbourne Victory, before a bye in Round Two and a first home game at McKellar Park in Round 3.

 Head Coach Heather Garriock said she is excited for the start of the new season, and to begin planning with fixtures now released.

“It makes it very exciting now we can now plan for our matches ahead,” she said.

“Particularly for our first match against Melbourne Victory.”

Following Round Two’s bye, three of the next four matches for Canberra United at home, including a Friday Night blockbuster against Perth Glory. 

That match wil be broadcast LIVE on Fox Sports, as will the following week’s clash with Brisbane Road in Round Six.

An extra ten matches will be streamed across the season, something Garriock believes is great for the league in its 10th Season.

“The way that the Westfield W-League has evolved is sensational,” she said. 

“It’s great for the game, for the players and for the fans. 

“More fans at games this season is a priority as well.

Canberra United 2017/18 Westfield W-League Season Draw

Round 1: v Melbourne Victory (A) – Epping Stadium – 4:30pm Saturday 28/10

Round 2: Bye

Round 3: v Sydney FC (H) – McKellar Park – 4:30pm Sunday 12/11

Round 4: v Newcastle Jets (A) – No. 2 Sportsground – 4:30pm Sunday 19/11

Round 5: v Perth Glory (H) – TBC – 5:20pm Friday 24/11

Round 6: v Brisbane Roar (H) – McKellar Park – 4:30pm Sunday 3/12

Round 7: v Melbourne City (A) – AAMI Park – 4:30pm Sunday 10/12

Round 8: v Sydney FC (A) – Allianz Stadium – 5:20pm Friday 15/12

Round 9: Bye

Round 10: v Adelaide United (A) – McKellar Park – 4:30pm Sunday 7/1/18

Round 11: v Western Sydney Wanderers (H) – McKellar Park – 4:30pm (7:30pm AEST) Sunday 14/7/18

Round 12: v Perth Glory (A) – Hay Park (Bunbury) – 4:30pm Sunday 20/1/8

Round 13: v Newcastle Jets (H) – McKellar Park – 4:30pm Sunday 28/1/17

Round 14: v Brisbane Roar (A) – Suncorp Stadium – 3:30pm (4:30pm AEST) Sunday 4/2/18

View the Full DRAW HERE

Key features of the Westfield W-League 2017/18 Season draw

• Westfield W-League 2017/18 Season will be played over 14 Rounds (54 matches) followed by the Westfield

W-League 2018 Finals Series (3 matches)

• Twenty (25) Westfield W-League/Hyundai A-League Double-Header matches (which includes 3 matches

scheduled after Hyundai A-League matches)

• Majority of matches scheduled to avoid clashes with Hyundai A-League fixtures (i.e. avoiding market clashes

or when the club’s Hyundai A-League team has been scheduled to play)

• Improved kick-off times during peak summer months with majority of matches across the entirety of the

Season Draw scheduled to kick-off no earlier than 4pm (local)

• Twenty-seven (27) matches to be seen on FOX SPORTS (including all three Westfield W-League 2018

Finals Series matches) up from 17 (2016/17 season)

• Three (3) broadcast fixtures in Round 1 – including Grand Final re-match between Perth Glory and

Melbourne City FC @ nib Stadium on opening match day and Sydney FC v Brisbane Roar FC @ Allianz


• Majority of Sunday broadcast matches scheduled to kick-off at 4:30 pm (local) during peak summer months,

leading in to 7pm kick-offs for Hyundai A-League fixtures (10 of the 12 Sunday broadcast fixtures Westfield

W-League / Hyundai A-League Double-Header matches)

• Each club will host at least two home broadcast matches during the Westfield W-League 2017/18 Season

• Alternate market fixtures to expand the reach of the Westfield W-League in selected areas:

o Round 6 – Sydney FC v Melbourne Victory @ Cromer Park, Cromer, NSW

o Round 12 – Perth Glory v Canberra United @ Hay Park, Bunbury, WA

o Round 14 – Sydney FC v Western Sydney Wanderers FC @ Seymour Shaw Park, Miranda, NSW

• Westfield W-League 2018 Finals Series scheduled as stand-alone matches which coincides with Hyundai ALeague

Split Round 20

• The Westfield W-League 2018 Semi Finals will be played on Sunday 11 February with the Westfield WLeague

2018 Grand Final scheduled for Sunday 18 February.