Canberra stun Glory to claim Westfield W-League title


Two late goals from Ashleigh Sykes saw Canberra United win the 2015 Westfield W-League 3-1 over Perth Glory at nib Stadium.

Sykes’ two goals came within three minutes of one another, either side of a missed penalty from Glory striker Kate Gill.

With the scores locked at 1-1 for the majority of the second half, Sykes slotted past Glory keeper Mackenzie Arnold, the ball trickling into the net faster than Shelina Zadorksy could get back to keep it out.

Glory fluffed their chance to find the equaliser after Marianna Tabain was taken down in the box.

Kate Gill stepped up, but fired a tame penalty at Canberra keeper Chantel Jones.

Sykes sealed the game for Canberra as Arnold came for a cross, but was beaten to it by Michelle Heyman, allowing Sykes to head into an empty net.

Canberra took the lead on 21 minutes as Stephanie Ochs stepped inside and curled a brilliantly placed shot off the post and into the bottom corner of the net.

Glory had the first big chance of the game as Collette McCallum knocked a great ball over the top for Caitlin Foord whose shot was brilliantly saved by Jones.

Glory found their equaliser early in the second half through a wonder free kick from Glory captain McCallum, which flew into the top corner.

Canberra dominated the first half and were deserving of their half-time lead, which could have been even more if not for good defending from Zadorksy.

Glory started the second half stronger and looked capable of going on to win it after their equalizer until Sykes seized the initiative.

After twice finding the net, Sykes was brought down in the box by Zadorsky to give Canberra another opportunity. But substitute Grace Gill’s spot-kick was saved by Arnold in the last play of the game.

Perth Glory 1 (Collette McCallum 63’)

Canberra United 3 (Stephanie Ochs 20’, Ashleigh Sykes 75’, 78’)

Sunday 21 December 2014

nib Stadium, Perth

Local kick-off: 12pm

Attendance: 2,671

Referee: Kate Jacewicz

Perth Glory : Mackenzie Arnold (gk), Sarah Carroll (Carys Hawkins 62’), Bronwyn Studman, Shannon May, Alanna Kennedy, Caitlin Foord, Kate Gill, Elisa D’Ovidio (Gabrielle Marzano 73’), Collette McCallum, Shelina Zadorsky, Marianna Tabain

Substitutes – Gabrielle Dal Busco (gk), Shawn Billam, Thia Eastman

Cautions – Sarah Carroll 49’, Caitlin Foord 64’, Shelina Zadorsky 93’

Canberra United : Chantel Jones (gk), Catherine Brown, Caitlin Munoz, Ellie Brush, Grace Maher (Julia De Angelis 53’), Michelle Heyman, Sally Rojahn, Nicole Begg, Ashleigh Sykes, Lori Lindsey (Grace Gill 91’), Stephanie Ochs

Substitutes – Melissa Maizels (gk), Grace Field, Tegan Riding

Cautions – Catherine Brown 62’, Caitlin Munoz 86’