Canberra United: 2016-17 Premiers


Canberra United have been crowned the 2016/17 Westfield W-League Premiers

Canberra United have claimed the 2016-17 Westfield W-League Premiership after Adelaide United’s 5-2 win over Sydney FC and Perth Glory’s 1-0 win Western Sydney Wanderers.

Following United’s fantastic 5-1 triumph over the Melbourne Victory on Saturday, all eyes were on Coopers Stadium as ladder-leaders Sydney FC travelled to face Adelaide but the Lady Reds were too strong as they put on a magnificent second half display.

And with Perth unable to overcome the mountainous goal difference to United, Canberra were confirmed as Premiers for the third time in the club’s history.

Canberra United Head Coach Rae Dower expressed her elation, adding her thanks to all involved in the triumph.

“I’m elated and so very proud of all the team at Canberra United FC in winning the Premier’s Plate for Season 9,” she said. 

“From the players, staff, medical team, to the volunteers and all our loyal fans, it has been a wonderful team effort from all involved to win the Premier’s Plate for the 3rd time in the short history of the W-League.”

Dower also acknowledged that the campaign does not end here, looking ahead to hosting Melbourne City in the capital next weekend in a blockbuster semi-final matchup.

“We’re hungry though and we want more, that’s 1 down and 1 to go,” she said. 

“We’re looking forward to hosting Mebourne City FC next weekend and can’t wait to play in front of the Canberra United faithful.”

“Congratulations to Perth Glory and Sydney FC as the other finalists and good luck for your semi-final in Perth next weekend.”

Ashleigh Sykes claimed the 2016-17 Westfield W-League Golden Boot after a scintillating final weekend display where she scored yet another brace at McKellar Park.

Details of the home semi-final are still to be confirmed, however it will no doubt be played in front of yet another fantastic, racuous home Canberra crowd.