Canberra United Season Launch


Canberra United officially launched the defence of the Westfield W-League crown last season with a lunchtime function at the Tradies Club in Dickson.

Canberra United officially launched the defence of the Westfield W-League crown won in such superb style last season with a lunchtime function at the home of one of their sponsors, the Tradies Club, in Dickson last week.

CEO Heather Reid addressed the invited guests which included sponsors, politicians and members of the press who interviewed United-s stars ahead of what is sure to be another memorable season of Westfield W-League football. Also present was former USA national coach April Heinrichs who later that day took part in a Women in Sport Coaching Clinic and Seminar, held for the second year in front of a rapt audience.

Reid thanked the numerous sponsors who have helped make Canberra United the envy of the competition and has given Coach Jitka Klimkova the best possible chance of success in the 2012/13 season. Introducing the squad, Reid was able to highlight the individual success achieved by the players in being selected for the team for the challenges ahead before photographs of the shirt presentation took place.

With players, staff, sponsors and guests mingling and enjoying the food on offer United look well set for the new season.

Following the Season Launch members of the Canberra United met the public at the loop Fun Day held at the Belconnen Fresh Food Markets on Sunday 14th October. Players gave attending youngsters a ‘goody- bag complete with signed a Canberra United poster, a box of coloured pencils, a water bottle and some stickers to thank them for coming. Memberships were also on sale and the club, along with sponsors loop, enjoyed a successful hour.

1. Mackenzie ARNOLD, 2. Caitlin COOPER, 3. Georgia YEOMAN-DALE, 4. Christine WALTERS, 5. Grace FIELD, 6. Caitlin MUNOZ, 7. Ellie BRUSH, 8. Hayley RASO, 9. Grace GILL, 10. Snez VELJANOVSKA, 11. Michelle HEYMAN, 12. Sally ROJAHN, 13. Nicole SYKES, 14. Ashleigh SYKES, 15. Sally SHIPARD, 16. Catherine BROWN, 17. Ariane HINGST, 18. Samantha WOOD, 19. Jennifer BISSET, 20. Trudy BURKE