Canberra United will return to their traditional home for the 2022/2023 Liberty A-League season with the club announcing that McKellar Park will be the home venue for the team in green for the new season.

McKellar Park, the home of local National Premier League club Belconnen United, is no stranger to hosting Canberra United having been the scene of many memorable moments in the storied history of the two-times champions.

Indeed, the venue was the backdrop for one of the most thrilling days in United’s fifteen-year history, the incredible 3-2 Grand Final win over Brisbane Roar in 2012 when 2,512 turned the ground into a sea of green to witness two goals from Michelle Heyman and one from Ashleigh Sykes secure the trophy.

“We are delighted to be able to bring matches back to McKellar Park for the new Liberty A-League season 2023/2024,” Canberra United CEO, Chris Gardiner, commented.

“The venue has been a favourite with both our players and our supporters throughout the years and provides everything that we need for a top-class professional matchday experience both on, and off, the field.”

The Belconnen venue played host to the very first home match played by Canberra United on 9 November 2008 when 1,637 came through the gate to witness the visit of the Central Coast Mariners and has since borne witness to many more memorable occasions such as the record 7-2 win over Perth Glory in 2017.

The move back to McKellar Park comes off the back of a successful venture into the South of Canberra with home matches being played at Viking Park recently.

“I would like to put on record our thanks to the Vikings organisation for the use of their facilities,” Chris Gardiner said. “The pitch was one of the very best in the competition and we thank the club and their ground staff for making us feel at home.”

Canberra United will compete in the Liberty A-League for the 2023/2024 season, their 15th season in the competition.


Played: 62

Won: 36

Drawn: 11

Lost: 15