Champions announce settled squad


The Westfield W-League champions Canberra United has announced their squad for the 2012/13 season.

The Westfield W-League champions Canberra United has announced their squad for the 2012/13 season releasing a settled roster containing fourteen players from the team that secured the league title and Grand Final in undefeated style last season.

Newcomers include German international Arian Hingst, goalkeeping duo Mackenzie Arnold and Trudy Burke as well as a trio of emerging stars from the local premier league namely Grace Field, Catherine Brown and Samantha Wood. Of those three, Field was a member of Canberra United squad two seasons ago, making her debut in the 2010/11 campaign whilst Brown and Wood will make their Westfield W-League debut in green.

The team has a great mix of youth and experience with Sally Shipard, Caitlin Munoz and Hingst providing a solid core and Ellie Brush and Caitlin Cooper a central defensive wall that will protect the two shot-stoppers, Young Matilda Mackenzie Arnold and newcomer Illawarra Stingrays- Trudy Burke. Going forward there is plenty of pace in the likes of Ashleigh Sykes and Georgia Yeoman-Dale with Golden Boot winner Michelle Heyman spearheading a side full of attacking threat.

“I-m very happy with the compilation of our squad for the new season,” Head Coach Jitka Klimkova said following the conclusion of United-s trial process where 26 players were vying for a place in the final five places available. “It was very difficult to select the final squad but the five youngsters who I have added to the mix have lots of talent, pace and motivation and will be a terrific addition to the group.”

CEO Heather Reid pointed to the amount of Canberra locals in the squad as an indication that the club is helping to promote locally based talent on the national stage.

“Of the twenty player squad we have only one international player and five from interstate [Hayley Raso and Arnold from Queensland, Cooper, Burke and Heyman from NSW],” Reid confirmed. “The other fifteen players are all locally based showcasing the depth of talent that is available in the ACT and surrounding region. The inclusion of the young players in the final twenty will certainly help the development of the game in the Canberra region and we are confident that they have the skills, talent and capacity to thrive at the highest level. Several are already in the Young Matildas under 20 training squad.”

United kicks off the defence of the Westfield W-League crown with a home match against Brisbane Roar on Saturday 20th October 2012 with kick off at 2pm. Tickets will be on sale shortly priced at $10 adults and $5 concessions (students and pensioners on production of the relevant card) with children under-12 admitted FREE. Official souvenir match programs, C U in GREEN, are available at each and every home Canberra United game priced at $2 and crammed with information providing a perfect souvenir from each game. Season memberships, which include entry to every home match along with exclusive member gifts and benefits, are still available. Visit for further information.


1. Mackenzie ARNOLD, 2. Caitlin COOPER, 3. Georgia YEOMAN-DALE, 4. Christine WALTERS, 5. Grace FIELD, 6. Caitlin MUNOZ, 7. Ellie BRUSH, 8. Hayley RASO, 9. Grace GILL, 10. Snez VELJANOVSKA, 11. Michelle HEYMAN, 12. Sally ROJAHN, 13. Nicole SYKES, 14. Ashleigh SYKES, 15. Sally SHIPARD, 16. Catherine BROWN, 17. Arian HINGST, 18. Samantha WOOD, 19. Jennifer BISSET, 20. Trudy BURKE

Arrivals:1. Mackenzie ARNOLD (Perth Glory), 5. Grace FIELD (Woden Valley/ACTAS), 16. Catherine BROWN (Woden Valley/ACTAS), 17. Ariane HINGST (Newcastle Jets), 18. Samantha WOOD (Canberra FC), 20. Trudy BURKE (Illawarra Stingrays)

Departures: Lydia WILLIAMS (season-long injury), Aroon CLANSEY (returns as video analyst), Emma KETE, Ellyse PERRY (Sydney FC), Kahlia HOGG (USA scholarship)