Champions Begin Defence in Brisbane


It’s Roar first up for Champions United in Season 8.

Westfield W-League Champions Canberra United will begin the defence of their crown with a fixture against Brisbane Roar at Suncorp Stadium on Sunday 18th October, 1.00pm (local), 2.00pm (AEDT). The match will form part of a double-header with the Hyundai A-League clash between the Roar and Central Coast Mariners.

This will be the fourth time that United begin a Westfield W-League season against the Roar having played the Queenslanders first up in Season 2 (2009), Season 5 (2012/13) and Season 6 (2013/14). The first home match of the season sees Sydney FC visit Canberra with the Sky Blues set to arrive on Saturday 24th October for a 4pm kick-off at McKellar Park.

In another first Canberra will play a home fixture on the Central Coast as the scheduled match against Melbourne City will take place before the Mariners clash with Wellington Phoenix. Further information regarding ticketing for this match will be released in due course. 

United will then have a trio of matches away from home, against Newcastle Jets, Sydney FC and Western Sydney Wanderers, before December brings the Champions back to Canberra for three back-to-back matches at McKellar Park. This promises to be a massive month of football for United as Roar, Adelaide United and Melbourne Victory make the journey to the National Capital. 

Canberra usually starts their campaign with a bang and hasn’t lost an opening day fixture in the Westfield W-League since October 2009 (Season 2), when they were beaten by the Roar in Brisbane, remained unbeaten in a string of five matches that saw four wins and a draw. Last season’s campaign begin with a 4-1 success away at Western Sydney Wanderers, the teams’ third 4-1 win in seven season openers.

Canberra United Official Memberships for Season 8 (2015/16) will be available to purchase from Tuesday 15th September at 9.00am. Applications for membership can be made by downloading and completing the online form at


18: Round 1 – Brisbane Roar (Suncorp Stadium), 1pm (local), 2.00pm (AEDT)
24: Round 2 – Sydney FC (McKellar Park), 4.00pm
Round 3 – BYE

8: Round 4 – Melbourne City (Central Coast Stadium), 2.00pm
14: Round 5 – Newcastle Jets (Magic Park, Broadmeadow), 2.00pm
22: Round 6 – Sydney FC (Lambert Park, Leichhardt), 5.30pm
29: Round 7 – Western Sydney Wanderers (Central Coast Stadium), 2.00pm

5: Round 8 – Brisbane Roar (McKellar Park), 4.00pm
12: Round 9 – Adelaide United (McKellar Park), 4.00pm
19: Round 10 – Melbourne Victory (McKellar Park), 4.00pm
Round 11 – BYE

2: Round 12 – Perth Glory (Ashfield Reserve), 4pm (local), 7.00pm (AEDT)
10: Round 13 – Western Sydney Wanderers (McKellar Park), 4.00pm
15: Round 14 – Adelaide United (Adelaide Shores Football Centre), 7pm (local), 7.30pm (AEDT)