Canberra United welcome Wellington Phoenix to McKellar Park in our next home match the Clash of the Capitals, seeking an element of revenge.

The Phoenix have only ever met Canberra once in the Liberty A-League, last season’s fixture at Viking Park, where the team from across the Tasman made their own slice of history, recording a first-ever win in the competition thanks to goals from Chloe Knott, Grace Jale, and an own goal from Ally Haran.

That result was one of only two victories that the Phoenix have recorded in the competition and United will be determined to make amends for that surprise setback.

A brace of draws means an undefeated start to the season for Njegosh Popovich and his team who return to action following the bye week, contemplating how to turn those stalemates into maximum points.

Indeed, of their last half-a-dozen league matches crossing the end of last season and the beginning of this, Canberra has frustratingly recorded five draws, the only victory a 3-0 win over Newcastle Jets.

United drew seven matches last season, with four of those incredibly ending 3-3 and so goals haven’t been an issue. With the signing of Jale, the Football Ferns international scoring in successive matches for her new club, that continues to be a trend.

Considering the Phoenix only began life in the league last term, its unsurprising that the list of players who have donned both colours is limited. Indeed, only classy, and elegant midfielder Jale has done so, playing twelve times, and having scored half-a-dozen goals for the team in yellow and black.

The forward stands on the precipice of a Liberty A-League record havening found the back of the net in her last six matches, a feat only achieved by Sam Kerr ad Larissa Crummer. Perhaps it’s destiny that she break that record against her former teammates.

Phoenix have begun the 2022/2023 season with three successive defeats, a pair of home losses and a narrow 1-0 reverse against Melbourne Victory last time out. In that match they showed glimpses of attacking quality meaning United will need to be on their toes if they are to record a first win of the new campaign.

United will be missing Chinese international forward Wu Chengshu following her injury against Brisbane Roar in Round 2.

Canberra United continue their Liberty A-League quest against Wellington Phoenix on Saturday 10 December at McKellar Park, with a 3pm kick-off. Gates open at 2pm.

Tickets are on sale here.

Canberra United squad: 1. Keeley RICHARDS (GK), 3. Grace TARANTO, 4. Holly MURRAY, 5. Emma ILIJOSKI, 6. Laura HUGHES, 7. Ellie BRUSH 8. Sasha GROVE,10. Grace MAHER, 11. Grace JALE, 12. Hayley TAYLOR-YOUNG  13. Sophia CHRISTOPHERSON, 15. Madison MCCOMASKY, 16. Kennedy FAULKNOR, 17. Vesna MILIVOJEVIC, 18. Chloe LINCOLN, 19. Nickoletta FLANNERY, 23. Michelle HEYMAN, 24. Ellen GETT

Unavailable:  9. WU Chengshu