Heavyweights meet at McKellar Park


Saturday 4th October 2014
Canberra United v Brisbane Roar
(McKellar Park, Kick-Off 5pm)

Canberra United welcomes old foes Brisbane Roar to McKellar Park in Round 4 of the Westfield W-League aiming to get back to winning ways after their unbeaten start to the season was brought to a crashing halt at the same venue last week. Melbourne Victory conquered Canberra through a combination of pace and clinical efficiency, taking the opportunities that they created to score four times whilst Canberra was left rueing their lack of ruthlessness in front of goal.
The Roar meanwhile were busy getting their season back on track with a 3-1 win over Newcastle Jets. It was the first success of the season for the Brisbane side who had stumbled to successive defeats in their first two hit-outs of 2014. That was something of a surprise for a team that has been consistently one of the best in the history of the competition.
Canberra and Brisbane matches are often decisive ones when it comes to the shake-up at the end of the season with the two teams being contenders for the championship since day one of the Westfield W-League. Indeed, the pair had the honour of playing in the inaugural Grand Final in 2008 when Queensland Roar [as they were known in their original incarnation] defeated United, coached by Robbie Hooker, 2-0. That was revenge of some sorts for the Roar who had been defeated by Canberra in the first meeting between the sides and drawn 1-1 in the return.
It was the start of a series of battles between two clubs that earned the term ‘heavyweight’ as the orange and green fought for supremacy. The Roar’s remarkable run of consistency in the Westfield W-League is highlighted by the fact that they have played in five of the six Grand Final deciders to date, and have won two of them. The most famous meeting between these two combatants, from the home team’s point of view at least, would have to be the Season Four showdown.
A club record 2,512 people crammed into McKellar Park for the 2012 Grand Final where a brace of goals from Michelle Heyman and an Ashleigh Sykes finish to a slick counter-attack saw Canberra to victory. Heyman has often been on target in the big games for Canberra and the forward will have a major impact today. Last weekend saw the Shellharbour native rack up her 50th appearance in Canberra green with a tally of 33 goals to her name to date underlining the prolific goal-scoring prowess.
The visitors to McKellar Park will boast a familiar face in the form of winger Hayley Raso who made her breakthrough at Canberra. A double last weekend in the win over Newcastle Jets put the youngster in a better for frame of mind than she appeared after being substituted against Sydney FC. Her sheer pace and eye for goal will need to be guarded against by the Canberra defence.
All in all this has the potential to be a highlight of the season. Both teams love to attack and score goals so a high scoring match is anticipated. 
1. Chantel JONES, 2. Catherine BROWN, 3. Julia DE ANGELIS, 5. Grace FIELD, 6. Caitlin MUNOZ, 7. Ellie BRUSH, 9. Grace GILL, 10. Grace MAHER, 11. Michelle HEYMAN, 12. Sally ROJAHN, 13. Nicole BEGG, 14. Ashleigh SYKES, 16. Lori LINDSEY, 17. Holly HOUSTON, 18. Rebecca KITING, 20. Melissa MAIZELS, 22. Stephanie OCHS

UNAVAILABLE: 4. Kendall FLETCHER (unavailable), 8. Meg McLAUGHLIN (injured, 4 weeks)