Michelle Heyman is back

Michelle Heyman

Canberra United is delighted to announce that club legend Michelle Heyman has signed with the club for the 2020/21 Westfield W-League season.

Heyman has made 115 Westfield W-League appearances, including 89 caps for Canberra United during eight seasons with the club, the third most capped player in United’s history.

Heyman claimed the Julie Dolan Medal with Central Coast Mariners in 2009, before moving to Canberra and establishing herself as one of the competition’s most prolific strikers.

The 32-year-old, who is a two-time Westfield W-League Golden Boot winner, is the second all-time leading goalscorer in the Westfield W-League with 63 goals, including 51 for Canberra United.

Heyman also scored 20 goals across 61 appearances for the Matildas, before announcing her international retirement in 2019.

The two-time Westfield W-League champion said she was excited to once again pull on a United shirt.

“If you were to ask me a year ago if this was something that could happen, to be honest, this comeback was something I didn’t think was going to happen,” Heyman said.

“Now that I’ve had a year off with no football, I feel better than ever – both mentally and physically strong and I have found the love of the game again.

“I am so excited to get back to the roots of Canberra United. Canberra United has been a part of my life and helped shape my career. I’ve always loved this club and feel very grateful to get the opportunity to come back and play for the Green family.” 

Canberra United head coach Vicki Linton welcomed Michelle Heyman back to Canberra United.

“I think this is a good opportunity for her to return to Canberra this season,”  Linton said. “I had the chance to work with Michelle during my time with the Matildas and I know the qualities she possesses.

“She made a return to play during the NPL season in Sydney and even in a short space of time, showed those qualities.

“She has been a prolific goal-scorer in the Westfield W-League and for Canberra so it will be good to have her as part of the squad this season.”

Canberra United squad for 2020/21 Westfield W-League season:

Grace Maher, Laura Hughes, Rachael Goldstein, Lauren Keir, Hayley Taylor-Young, Nicki Flannery, Bianca Galic, Clare Hunt, Jessika Nash, Ashlie Crofts, Isabella Foletta, Demi Koulizakis, Sally James, Jessie Rasschaert, Kendall Fletcher, Paige Satchell and Michelle Heyman