Preview: Canberra United v Adelaide United


Canberra United welcome Adelaide United to Canberra for the fourth time in the history of the Westfield W-League as firm favourites to take all three points against the Lady Reds.

Saturday 7th January 2012
Canberra United v Adelaide United
McKellar Park, Kick off 3pm

Canberra United welcome Adelaide United to Canberra for the fourth time in the history of the Westfield W-League as firm favourites to take all three points against the Lady Reds as they look to claim the championship and remain unbeaten. The home team has been the dominant force in the games played previously between the two having chalked up three comfortable wins after the first match in the series, back in 2008, ended in a goalless draw.

That match in late November 2008 was notable for the dismissal of Canberra United defender Thea Slatyer early on, the only time that a Canberra player had received a red card in the Westfield W-League. A fairly dismal match ensued with neither goalkeeper troubled much and that 0-0 draw remained the only goalless game in the history of the club until the recent stalemate with Sydney FC.

The teams have met three times since that day and Canberra has certainly enjoyed the upper hand racking up nine points from nine and scoring eleven goals in the process. Matches with Adelaide tend to throw up meaningful moments in Canberra United history though with both Emily Van Egmond and Ellyse Perry scoring their first ever goals for the green team against their South Australian rivals whilst the match on 4th December 2010 was the first, and so far only, game that Canberra have participated in that didn-t go the full ninety minutes being abandoned around the hour-mark due to a torrential, monsoon like, down pour. By that stage Canberra were cruising at 4-0 ahead with all the goals coming in a twenty-one minute spell at the start of the fixture.

Caitlin Munoz gave United the lead on six minutes before a Michelle Heyman double made it 3-0 by the sixteenth minute. Five minutes later Ellie Brush headed in the fourth and a record score seemed likely. Canberra eased off though and, as conditions worsened, it became clear the match could not conclude with the home team handed the points. Heyman has a particular fondness for the Lady Reds as opponents having added to that double in her first season with a further brace in the 4-1 victory at Hindmarsh Stadium in October this year.

Heyman struck the quickest goal in Canberra United history after 88 seconds as Adelaide were stunned with the striker converting a delightful Brush through ball. Munoz added two more to that tally in what was the first match played by the club in South Australia. Further milestones could yet be achieved this afternoon as Canberra look to end the regular season on the front foot with a confident performance to head into the finals series in good shape.

United-s squad will be without Matildas international Caitlin Munoz who suffered an ACL injury in the draw at Melbourne, whilst Kahlia Hogg has left the club to pursue an overseas scholarship at Florida State University in the USA.


22/11/08 – Round 5
Canberra United 0 Adelaide United 0

05/12/09 – Round 10
Canberra United 3 (Ellie Brush 45-, Emily Van Egmond 86-, Ellyse Perry 90-) Adelaide United 0

04/12/10 – Round 4
Canberra United 4 (Caitlin Munoz 6-, Michelle Heyman 9-, 16-, Ellie Brush 21-) Adelaide United 0

22/10/11 – Round 1
Canberra United 4 (Michelle Heyman 2-, 82-, Caitlin Munoz 61-, 70-) Adelaide United 1

Canberra United: 1. Lydia WILLIAMS, 2. Caitlin COOPER, 3. Georgia YEOMAN-DALE, 4. Christine WALTERS, 7. Ellie BRUSH, 8. Hayley RASO, 9. Grace GILL, 10. Snez VELJANOVSKA, 11. Michelle HEYMAN, 12. Sally ROJAHN, 13. Nicole SYKES, 14. Ashleigh SYKES, 15. Sally SHIPARD, 16. Ellyse PERRY, 18. Tarn HEMMINGS, 19. Jennifer BISSET, 20. Aroon CLANSEY
Unavailable: 5. Kahlia HOGG (left for US Scholarship), 6. Caitlin MUNOZ (injured), 17. Leah BLAYNEY (injured)
*two to be omitted