Sky Blues arrive in Champions Den


Canberra United meet Sydney FC at McKellar Park this weekend.

Two teams that suffered first round defeats meet at McKellar Park in Round 2 of the Westfield W-League aiming to kick-start their season by racking up three points as Canberra United welcomes Sydney FC. Whilst United were slipping to a loss in Brisbane the Sky Blues were feeling the full force of debutants Melbourne City who crushed the former champions 6-0. As such both teams will be looking to get the ball rolling in front of what should be a decent crowd at the home of the current champions. 
United will likely welcome back central midfielder Caitlin Munoz into their matchday squad and there is a chance that defender Emma Checker and striker Emma Kete will have recovered from injury to be available for selection as well. The hosts will be missing goalkeeper Lydia Williams and the Westfield W-League all-time leading scorer Michelle Heyman away on international duty with the Matildas in China. Melissa Maizels will deputise for Williams with youngster Georgia Boric set to take a place on the bench. 
Sydney FC will be missing a trio of names themselves with Amy Harrison, Kyah Simon and Alanna Kennedy all part of Alen Stajcic’s touring party who will play the hosts and England with the latter fixture providing the intriguing prospect of Canberra United front-runners Heyman and Jodie Taylor going head-to-head. That means a reshuffle for both of today’s coaches from the teams that took to the field for Round 1. With Williams away Maizels will make what will be only her second appearance in green, the first coming almost a year ago to the day when she kept goal at home to Adelaide United. 
Fixtures between Canberra and Sydney are usually tight affairs with both teams having claimed four wins each in the ten-match series to date with the other two games ending in stalemate. Last season Canberra dominated the match at McKellar Park coming away with a 3-0 victory thanks to goals from Sally Rojahn, Heyman and Stephanie Ochs. In fact United has been successful in all three of their last match-ups with the Sky Blues with the NSW team having to go back to Season 5 and Round 6 (1st December) for their last win, coming out on top in a seven-goal thriller at Leichhardt Oval.
We could see the return to McKellar Park of former United star Ellyse Perry in Sydney blue for this one with the dual international signed on for another year. She will play an integral part if chosen alongside goal-sneak Leena Khamis, midfield maestro Renee Rollason and young starlet Sunny Franco. Rocking from their opening day setbacks we are sure to see fireworks here as United return home looking to rediscover their championship form. 

Canberra United Squad
2. Catherine BROWN, 3. Julia DE ANGELIS, 4. Kendall FLETCHER, 5. Jenna MCCORMICK, 6. Caitlin MUNOZ, 7. Ellie BRUSH, 8. Meg MCLAUGHLIN, 9. Grace GILL, 10. Grace MAHER, 12. Emma KETE, 13. Nicole BEGG, 14. Ashleigh SYKES, 15. Emma CHECKER, 16. Tegan RIDING. 17. Veronica PEREZ, 18. Rebecca KITING, 19. Nickoletta FLANERRY, 20. Melissa MAIZELS, 22. Georgia BORIC

In: 6. Caitlin MUNOZ, 12. Emma KETE, 15. Emma CHECKER, 17. Veronica PEREZ
Out: 1. Lydia WILLIAMS (international duty), 11. Michelle HEYMAN (international duty)