New season, new beginnings, new players.

It’s the mantra of a football fan as hope springs eternal at the commencement of another six months of the roller-coaster of emotions that is the Liberty A-League.

Now in its 15th season, the competition continues to inspire and exhilarate, to make champions and to create memories. And its ever-changing nature is why we all keep coming back for more.

There’s always a new season. There’s always a new chance. There’s always the belief that ‘This. Could. Be. Our. Year.’

United have recruited well under new Head Coach Njegosh Popovich, a Canberra local with a fine tradition in both playing and coaching the game. A local who ‘gets’ Canberra and its eclectic football community.

We welcome faces new and old. Our international cohort, from Serbia, from New Zealand, from Canada and from China. The names of Milivojevic, Jale, Faulknor and Wu set to become household names.

Our returning heroes. Heyman, on course for 150 games and 100 goals. Brush, back in green where she led the club to two Grand Final victories, Flannery adding goals and desire, Maher and Ilijoski, locals who are now cemented in the squad.

Our young charges, Grove, Hughes, Christopherson, Gett, and Middleton, adding youthful exuberance. Our interstate arrivals, Roach, Taranto, Murray, McComasky, bringing new skills and ability, and our last line of defence, Richards, Lincoln, Segavcic, alongside young prospect Ritchie.

They deserve our support and, knowing our fans, they will get our support. It all starts tomorrow when Perth Glory arrive at our traditional fortress, a return home for Canberra United to McKellar Park, and a chance to create new memories.

Make McKellar green again. Sing loud and sing proud. For we are United, and we are chasing glory once more.

Canberra United begin their Liberty A-League quest on Saturday 19 November at McKellar Park, with a 3pm kick-off. Gates open at 2pm.

Tickets are on sale here.

Canberra United Squad: 1. Keeley RICHARDS (GK), 2. Emily ROACH, 3. Grace TARANTO, 4. Holly MURRAY, 5. Emma ILIJOSKI, 6. Laura HUGHES, 8. Sasha GROVE, 9. Chengshu WU, 10. Grace MAHER, 11. Grace JALE, 13. Sophia CHRISTOPHERSON, 14. Chloe MIDDLETON, 15. Madison MCCOMASKY, 16. Kennedy FAULKNOR, 17. Vesna MILIVOJEVIC, 18. Chloe LINCOLN, 19. Nickoletta FLANNERY, 23. Michelle HEYMAN, 24. Ellen GETT


Outs: Unavailable: 7.Ellie BRUSH, 12. Hayley TAYLOR-YOUNG