Westfield W-League Round 6: Melbourne City v Canberra United


Canberra United travel to face Melbourne City in Round 6 of the Westfield W-League

Melbourne City and Canberra United will face off for the second time already this season, as they take to C.B. Smith Reserve on Saturday in Westfield W-League Round 6.

The previous meeting in Round 2 saw City take the three points at Gio Stadium as United spurned a number of fantastic chances, however the visitors have begun to find their scoring boots more frequently in the matches since. 

A 1-0 win over Brisbane the following week was backed up by a 5-2 home triumph over Newcastle, before the team in green fought back late to secure a 2-2 draw away to Adelaide last weekend.

City will be looking to extend their perfect start to the season which has seen them win all four of their matches, while United will aim to close the five point gap between themselves and the front two of City and Sydney FC.

City have been on fire of late, in particular Welsh midfielder Jess Fishlock, who has taken her goal tally up to three goals across the first five rounds.

Jasymne Spencer has been recalled into the Canberra United squad following an ankle injury, and will provide a boost if deemed fit to play.

Grace Maher continued her great starting streak with another strong performance against Adelaide to back up her Player of the Match efforts against the Jets, while Goalkeeper Trudy Burke was cleared to play during the week following a shot to the head in the draw.

WIth no changes to City’s squad, the home side will have an almost full strength team to trot out against one of their main title threats.

The sides will be facing off for the Blue Ribbon Cup, an initiative between Melbourne City and The Victoria Police Blue Ribbon Foundation. More information can be found here.


Saturday, 10 December 2016

Melbourne City FC v Canberra United

Venue: C.B. Smith Reserve

Kick-Off: 5:00PM (Local) (5:00PM (AEDT))

Referee: Katie Patterson

Assistant Referee 1: Danielle Anderson

Assistant Referee 2: Joanna Charaktis

Fourth Official: Kate Jacewicz


Melbourne City FC squad: 1.Lydia WILLIAMS (gk), 2.Teigen ALLEN, 3.Lauren BARNES, 5.Laura ALLEWAY, 6.Aivi LUIK, 7.Steph CATLEY (c), 10.Jessica FISHLOCK, 11.Erika TYMRAK, 13.Rebekah STOTT, 14.Melina AYRES, 15.Amy JACKSON, 16.Beverly YANEZ, 17.Marianna TABAIN, 19.Tyla-Jay VLAJNIC, 26.Erin HUDSON (gk)

Ins: Nil

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 9.Larissa CRUMMER (ankle – 3 weeks)


Canberra United squad: 1.Trudy BURKE (gk), 2.Yukari KINGA, 4.Clare HUNT, 5.Jenna McCORMICK, 7.Ellie BRUSH, 8.Hayley RASO, 9.Jasmyne SPENCER 10.Grace MAHER, 11.Michelle HEYMAN, 12.Hannah BREWER, 13.Celeste BOUREILLE, 14.Ashley SYKES, 16.Karly ROESTBAKKEN, 17.Laura HUGHES, 19.Nickoletta FLANNERY, 20.Georgia BORIC (gk), 22.Stephanie OCHS

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 9.Jasmyne SPENCER (return from injury), 17.Laura HUGHES (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 15.Emma CHECKER (knee – 1 week)