Canberra United round out Westfield W-League squad


Heather Garriock has finalised her squad for the 2017/18 Westfield W-League season with some final additions. 

After the exciting news of Toni Pressley and Ashleigh Sykes signing on for the season again, a number of exciting youngsters round out the ranks for Season 10.

Young Matilda Bethany Gordon will join a host of her national and Sydney University teammates when she links up with the squad after the AFC U/19 Championships conclude in China, including new signing Taren King who also played under Garriock’s tutelage at Sydney Uni.

Canberra United Academy players Sarah Morgan and Aoife Colvill have joined the squad for the season on Scholarship contracts, and will be ready to make an impact whenever they are called up to jump on the pitch.

Colvill’s background makes for interesting reading, with her family having moved from North Queensland for her to join the Academy and from there her ability shone through to see her picked by Garriock.

The 2017 PlayStation4 National Premier League Women’s Capital Football Golden Boot winner Maddy Whittall will also feature this season, after the Belconnen United forward netted over 30 times in a sensational season. 

With the Young Matildas contingent away, Canberra youngsters Lauren Keir, Isobel Davy and Jasmine Maguire will be called into the squad for week 1 against the Victory. USA International Kendall Fletcher also comes in to fill out Garriock’s squad.

Goalkeepers: 1. Haley Kopmeyer, 12. Bethany Gordon, 36. Georgia Boric

Defenders: 3. Clare Hunt, 4. Toni Pressley, 15. Sarah Morgan, 18. Taren King, 21. Ellie Carpenter, 34. Laura Bassett,

Midfielders: 6. Caitlin Munoz, 8. Liana Danaskos, 10. Grace Maher, 16. Karly Roestbakken, 20. Amy Sayer, 24. Kendall Fletcher

Forwards: 5. Georgia Plessas, 7. Nickoletta Flannery, 14. Ashleigh Sykes, 17. Madelyn Whittall, 19. Aoife Colvill, 23. Michelle Heyman